Category: Philly bands (Page 2 of 19)

Pink Slip Daddy – Live on WKDU

Long time Philly-area rockers Pink Slip Daddy, the brainchild of Mick Cancer, Sal Mineo’s Only Son, Barb Dwyer and Palmyra Delran, was formed in the late 1980s after its members had intersected in various combos, including Sic Kidz and Das Yahoos.

Originally intended as a solo project for Mick, it quickly morphed into a breathing reality, as for several decades the band has delivered wildly received live performances and a series of acclaimed recordings, including Rock Damage And Other Love Songs and the groundbreaking LSD ten-inch vinyl package.
– stolen from their soundcloud page that has FREE DOWNLOADS!

Complete live on Jackie’s show set on WKDU January 10, 1989 – Plus a pre-air version of L.S.D.

00 – Intro
01 – We Love to Boogie (T-Rex)
02 – 1-2-3-4
03 – Teenage Obsession
04 – Shake- Baby- Shake (Jesse Lee Turner)
05 – Rhythm Gurl
06 – Is There Something on Your Mind (Pt.3)
07 – Like the Duke of Earl
08 – Its Gonna Rain
09 – Heat of Love
10 – Elvis Zombie
11 – Shes a Scream
12 – Dog Food
13 – Outro
14 – L.S.D. (Practice)

MediaFire Zip of all files

Dead Girls in Tight Skirts – Live on WKDU

Again I have no info on this very Zappa influenced band – I remember the band name and vaguely think they were a west philly band but that’s it. This is a live on WKDU set I assume on Jackie’s show but I’m not even sure of that.
If anyone has more info on this band please send it to me. (Thanks)

Thanks for the tape Diego

01 – Unknown
02 – Unknown
03 – Traveling Song
04 – Unknown
05 – Unknown
06 – Suffragette City
07 – Unknown
08 – Unknown
09 – Unknown
10 – Unknown
11 – Unknown
12 – Unknown

MediaFire Zip of all files

Judith Schaechter – Demo

I included some of Judith’s songs with the split 7″ with Revologic, this is a demo tape release by Marc from Revologic’s Not one red cent tape series.
This was the Nov 1995 Cassingle of the Month. Tracks 1 & 3 were recorded at reveLodge by Marc (b guitars and b. vocals too.) on Tascam 8-track. Tracks 2 & 4 were recorded at home on boombox by Judith.
If you have not make sure you check out Judith’s Art site..

01 – Liz Anne
02 – Ive Trampled a Million Pretty Flowers
03 – Dead Cowboy
04 – For the Love of Biddle

MediaFire Zip of all files

Jekyll & Hyde – Live Firenze Tavern 3-02-91

Jekyll & Hyde featured Garland Monroe from Carnival Of Shame on guitar and vocals. I don’t remember who the other members were. They didn’t release anything but might have recorded a demo. On this live show they are playing some Carnival Of Shame songs plus new stuff.

01 – River Deep Mountain High
01 – Swan Dive
03 – Good Turns Bad
03 – Title Unknown
04 – Title Unknown
05 – the Imposter
06 – Not Undone
07 – Sick of it All
MediaFire Zip of all files

Ashtray – Live on WKDU & Demos

Half of a live from WKDU in studio on Jackie’s show  and two demo tapes from late 80’s early 90’s Philly band Ashtray. They were Joe Leifheit – (guitar, vocals), Sarah Howls – (bass, vocals), Steve Fujita – (guitar) & Bill Bussone – (drums). Ashtray also released a 7″ and cd that I will try to add at some  point later. Plus they have a song on the Rave Recods comp – Please! Don’t Lick the Walls.

Thanks for the tapes Jackie.

Live on WKDU

00 – Intro
01 – Unknown
02 – Yellow and Blue
03 – Up at the Sky
04 – I Want to Be Your Dog (middle cut out)
05 – Unknown
06 – Worst Enemy
07 – Not Ready
MediaFire Zip of all files

Three Song Demo

01 – Sunday
02 – About a Girl
03 – Rowhome
MediaFire Zip of all files

I am My own Worst Enemy Demo

01 – Looking Over the Houses
02 – I Am My Own Worst Enemy
03 – Up at the Sky
04 – Big Back Yard
05 – Dream
06 – Having Fun
07 – Dry Spell
08 – I Shell Be Released
MediaFire Zip of all files

Mothra – Live on WKDU

Mothra live on Jackie’s show on WKDU from March 02, 1991. For more info on Mothra check out past posts.
Thanks for the tape Jackie

00 – Intro
01 – Unknown
02 – Film School
03 – Sloushing
04 – Lets Start a Band
05 – 14 Greatest
06 – Almost Human
07 – Poetry Break – Dig the Fog
08 – Let Yourself In
09 – Part of a Note
10 – 12 Feet Deep
11 – Poetry Break-Punkitude
12 – Anyway Anyhow Anywhere
13 – Outro
MediaFire Zip of all files

Suffacox – demos

Phila. ’93-?. Space Glam-a-delic Smudge-Pop. Lou Cooper on drums, Christine Weiser/Mike Hughes/Art Difuria on bass, Brother JT on guitar, and Wayne Hamilton on guitar/sing. He also wrote almost all of the songs. Wayne and Mike have gone on, hope you got to meet them. Hear more on their Sondcloud page.

Hopefully sometime soon I will get to see Suffacox mach2 again (and you should go too.) Mach2 has three original members Christine Weiser (Mae Pang, Gal Lombardo, The Tights, RunHideFight)., Brother JT (Original Sins, Vibrolux) & Lou Cooper with the addition of Mike Lenert (Caterpillar Lettuce Prey)

Thanks for the tape Jackie

Cardboard Sarcophagus

A1 – Linda Lovelace
A2 – You Call Me
A3 – I Like Plaid
A4 – Inquisition
B1 – Sniff
B2 – Impossible Chnages
B3 – Death Girl
B4 – Stay Up Late
MediaFire Zip of all files

Sandpaper demo(?)

A1-Wheres My Honey
A2-Orgone Accumulator(Hawkwind)
B2-Double Dot
MediaFire Zip of all files

Big Thing – Live on WKDU

Late 80s early 90s Philly  band The Big Thing live on Jackie’s show on WKDU.
The members of the band were Revrnd Butcher (Bass), Tony Chicken (Drums, Percussion) Greg Loop (Guitar), Andrew Redman (Vocals) Their full length Rave Records album (In the Elbow Room) is available on spotify and digitally at apple & amazon. The 2nd song and beginning of the third song were cut off on the tape. Thanks for the tape Jackie.

00 – Intro
01 – No Junkies
02 – Unknown (Cutoff)
03 – Tell Me Something (Missing beginning)
04 – What’s Going On
05 – Peace Plan
06 – Reality Bus
07 – Intermission
08 – This Song Begins
09 – Unknown
10 – For My Sacrifice
11 – Unknown
12 – No Cars
13 – Unknown
14 – Your Life is Being Wasted
15 – Outro

MediaFire Zip of all files

« Older posts Newer posts »
Close Bitnami banner